Home Page

Protected Characteristics

Promoting the Protected Characteristics at All Saints.

We work to ensure our children understand:

There are no outsiders at All Saints.

Everyone is different.

We celebrate our differences.

We are all equal.

The Equality Act became law in 2010 . It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment, and victimisation. Everyone in Britain is protected. This is because the Equality Act protects people against discrimination because of the protected characteristics that we all have. Under the Equality Act there are 9 Protected characteristics.

  • Age
  • Sex
  • Disability
  • Race
  • Marriage and Civil Partnership
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Sexual orientation
  • Religion or Belief
  • Gender reassignment.

At All Saints, we actively promote understanding and acceptance of these in our curriculum and embed them in our whole school ethos, through our values, golden threads and collective worship. Through these we ensure that our children are given opportunities to develop age-appropriate knowledge and understanding

We use the 1 Decision scheme to deliver most of our PSHE curriculum and the protected characteristics are taught through units on Caring Friendships in KS1 and Respectful Relationships and a World without Judgement in KS2.

Assemblies: Protected characteristics and Are we the same? assemblies from the 1D scheme are included as part of our assembly cycles when the termly focuses are Compassion and Respect. We also use a variety of carefully selected books in our assemblies to introduce and further develop the protected characteristics and British values.